1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Eheim Prefilter

Discussion in 'Product Reviews' started by mavtin, Jul 6, 2014.

  1. mavtin

    mavtin Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Norwich
    Had been running an FX6 on my 450ltr tank and was cleaning it every month couldnt believe how much crud this filter was pulling in considering that I hoover the bottom daily(bare bottom)
    Started to look at ways of prefiltering the intake and Turkishpat recommended the eheim prefilter so got one off ebay, easy to install just removed the telescopic part of the FX6 strainer and was a good fit just needed a sucker for the input stem as the suckers are on the FX6 input strainer.
    Have been cleaning the prefilter every 2 days and yesterday cleaned the filter(2 months) and it was significantly cleaner than the filter at 1 month without the prefilter:thumbup:
    The prefilter is easy clean I just pull out the complete unit seperate the baskets clean the sponges in a bucket of tank water put back together and replace only takes a couple of minutes.
    Great upgrade for a small outlay can be extended if needed also.

    https://www.eheim.com/en_GB/products/accessories/installation_prefilter

    Regards Martin
    jizzy, Stephen Morris and pottsy like this.
  2. pottsy

    pottsy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1,937
    Likes Received:
    1,644
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stoke on Trent
    Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Been using these for a few years on display tank, filter maintenance done to every 6 months.:thumbup:
    jizzy, Stephen Morris and mavtin like this.
  3. dllhost

    dllhost Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    8
    does it fit with FX5?
  4. mavtin

    mavtin Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Norwich
    I think it is the same as for the FX6,just remove the FX5 strainer and replace with the prefilter TURKISHPAT uses them on his FX5s.

    Regards Martin
  5. TURKISHPAT

    TURKISHPAT BIDKA Member & Show Shareholder

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,323
    Likes Received:
    396
    Location:
    KENDAL,CUMBRIA
    they work fine but remember to clean out reguarly as the sponges collect all the crud which slows down the filter outlet.
    mavtin likes this.
  6. dllhost

    dllhost Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    8
    Thx, guys. How often do you clean the prefilters?
  7. pottsy

    pottsy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1,937
    Likes Received:
    1,644
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stoke on Trent
    Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Every other day
  8. dllhost

    dllhost Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    8
    so it's actually more work than cleaning the external filter...lol

  9. pottsy

    pottsy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1,937
    Likes Received:
    1,644
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stoke on Trent
    Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    No not really, takes 5 minutes, and you don't have the job of re starting the filter.
  10. dllhost

    dllhost Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    8
    in fact, just got the prefilter, and took the strainer out, and the prefilter cannot fit onto the rigid plastic pipe, the diameter is about the same...

  11. dllhost

    dllhost Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    8
    thanks, pottsy, makes sense.
  12. mavtin

    mavtin Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Norwich
    I have an FX6 and the input stem is slightly different to the FX5,with the FX5 I think you have to remove the stem and put the prefilter directly to the rubber sleeve.

    Regards Martin

Share This Page